top of page

Blog

Debut Novel - The Descendants and the Missing Guardian - Releasing November 2014

I am getting so excited - I can barely contain it. The Descendants and the Missing Guardian (Book One) is in its second last round of edits. I get it back at the end of September and then complete it's last revision and read through. It's really happening - it's almost done. Book cover approved - check. Book trailer launched - check. Blog tours lined up - check. After all this time finally - the beginning is near ;)

The journey was not easy. I thought when I finally finished my rough draft that the hard part was over. Man was I wrong. When I look back at that copy I am embarrassed at the quality of writing in that manuscript - and to think of all the agents I sent that out to - what was I thinking!

That's the thing with your first novel. The journey is filled with self-confidence, quickly replaced by self-doubt. There is so much to learn before you are really ready. The best advise I can give is join a local writing group. I couldn't find one so I created my own with my friend, Christina Ritchie, a fellow writer. We launched Moose Jaw Night Writer's the summer of 2014 and now it's carrying on into the Fall.

Another piece of advice I can give is to take as many workshops/courses as you can. You may think your book is great, and it very well may be, but trust me, it can always be better. I could probably make The Descendants Book 1 even better that it will be when it publishes!

Other important things to do is get your writing platform created. Spend a little money and get the website you want to start from. From there you can create a Facebook page, Twitter account, and many more. You will make invaluable connections in these places with other writers in the same position as you, who will help with tips and tricks they've learned along the way.

Stretch your boundaries. Push your limits. Work hard. Write better. You can teach yourself!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page